German 3: Ist Deutschland multi-kulti? - Assignment and Rubric

CATEGORY

40-30

29-20

19-10

9-1

Content and Required Length

Covers topic in-depth with details and examples. Students have become experts on their topic and persuasively argued their point of view.  If students have a partner, the articles complement each other well.  No repetition!

Use of interesting and catchy titles and leads.

Each article contains between 350-450 words. Text on “Hauptseite” or other pages does not count towards the total.

Includes essential knowledge about the topic with some details. Subject knowledge appears to be good. Some supporting evidence given.   The articles complement each other well. 

Some interesting and catchy titles and leads.

Each article contains between 300-350 words. Text on “Hauptseite” or other pages does not count towards the total.

Includes essential information about the topic but there are 1-2 factual errors.  Few details or supporting evidence.  The information in the articles is repetitive.

Use of conventional titles and leads.

Each article contains between 250-300 words. Text on “Hauptseite” or other pages does not count towards the total.

Content is minimal OR there are several factual errors.  Students unable to answer basic questions about subject.  Only general information given, no clear arguments.  The articles are repetitive. 

Use of uninteresting titles and leads.

Does not meet minimum word count.  Each article contains fewer than 250 words.

CATEGORY

15-12

11- 8

7-4

3-1

Using information ethically, legally and responsibly

Documentation of Sources

Students integrate the research into their own ideas documenting the statistics, facts, figures, ideas using proper in-text citation.

Source information for all graphics, facts and quotes is cited using MLA format.

Students integrate research but a lot of paraphrasing.

Source information collected for all graphics, facts and quotes. Most documented in desired format.

It is clear students sometimes paraphrased or took information directly but did not cite correctly.

Source information collected but not documented in desired format.

Sources were not documented correctly and/or information was taken directly from sources without using the mechanics in-text citation

Very little or no source documentation (bibliography) evident.

Evaluate information and sources critically

Identifies at least three information sources by evaluating them for authority, accuracy and objectivity.

Identifies two information sources by evaluating them for authority, accuracy and objectivity.

Shows minimal evaluation of information sources.  Little evidence of authority, accuracy and objectivity.

Little or no evaluation of sources. 

Mechanics

The learner uses accurate grammar, spelling, punctuation.

The learner consistently uses verbs in the correct form, correct tense, proper word order, etc.

The learner mostly uses accurate grammar, spelling, punctuation.

The learner consistently uses verbs in the correct form, correct tense, proper word order, etc.

Errors make comprehension difficult.  Frequent mistakes in verb forms, word order, spelling, etc.

Many mistakes in verb forms, word order, spelling, etc.

Originality  and Attractiveness

Product shows a large amount of original thought. Ideas are creative and inventive.

Makes excellent use of font, color, graphics, effects, etc. to enhance the presentation.

Product shows some original thought. Work shows new ideas and insights.

Makes good use of font, color, graphics, effects, etc. to enhance to presentation.

Uses other people\'s ideas (giving them credit), but there is little evidence of original thinking.

Makes use of font, color, graphics, etc. but occasionally these detract from the presentation content.

Uses other people\'s ideas, but does not give them credit.

Use of font, color, graphics, effects etc. but these often distract from the presentaion cont